Subsite Navigation

Game Information


Equipment Database


Character Development






Gameplay Tips
Did we miss anything in this section? Is there something we didn't discover? Let us know!


Armor items and weapon items have been designed for particular classes. Warrior items require strength and constitution, rogue items require dexterity and cunning, and mage items require magic and willpower. That means of the three attribute points you receive each time you level up, at least two of those points should go to your primary attributes, or else you might not be able to use the equipment meant for your class.

You'll be able to buy five backpacks in the game (from merchants in Kirkwall, under the "other" category). Each backpack will increase your carrying capacity by 10.

You'll only be able to insert runes into your equipment (armor and weapons) by visiting an enchanter. Runes do not add fixed bonuses; their bonuses are determined by the quality of the item being enchanted. For example, a Rune of Fire adds fire damage to a weapon equal to 20% of the weapon's base damage (so a weapon that does 25 damage would receive +5 fire damage).


Your companions won't be able to change their armor, and they also won't be allowed to wear helmets, gloves, or boots. However, their armor will improve as the game progresses, and you'll also get opportunities to upgrade it (usually by purchasing the upgrade), so your companions will remain capable. As a corollary to this, if you find a piece of armor meant for a different class than your main character, then you might as well sell it.

Some companions might not make it to the end of the game, so it's a good idea to pay attention to all of your companions, and keep them equipped and complete their quests.

If you have the Black Emporium DLC, then you'll have access to a mabari war hound in the game. The war hound is a summoned creature rather than a companion, and it will give you some extra fighting power during your frequent battles, but it will also disappear each time you change maps, and so you'll need to pay attention and re-summon it as necessary.


If you're playing on one of the higher difficulty settings, then you might want to retreat when you first encounter enemies. This will usually break up the fight so you can heal in between waves of attackers.

You'll only be able to hit allies with area-effect spells if you're playing on the nightmare difficulty setting.

When characters are knocked unconscious in battle, they'll receive an injury, which will reduce their maximum health. Injuries don't stack, so getting knocked out multiple times won't hurt the character any more than getting knocked out once. You can heal injuries by using Injury Kits or by visiting "Gather Your Party" stations.

There aren't any non-combat skills in the game. Rogues will only be able to open chests and disarm traps based on their cunning attribute. They'll need at most a cunning score of 20 for Act I, at most a score of 30 for Act II, and at most a score of 40 for Act III.

If you complete most of the side quests, then the game should take you around 50 hours to complete, and you should reach level 25 by the end.






Act I Locations


Act I Quests


Act II Locations


Act II Quests


Act III Locations


Act III Quests