The handiwork of the gods is everywhere -- in places of natural beauty, in mighty crusades, in soaring temples, and in the hearts of worshipers. Like people, gods run the range from benevolent to malicious, reserved to intrusive, simple to inscrutable. The gods, however, work mostly through intermediaries -- their clerics. Good clerics heal, protect, and avenge. Evil clerics pillage, destroy, and sabotage. A cleric uses the power of his god to make the god's will manifest.

Clerics are masters of divine magic, which is especially good at healing. Even an inexperienced cleric can bring people back from the brink of death. As channelers of divine energy, clerics can affect undead creatures, weakening or even destroying them. Clerics have some combat training.

Class Features

• Hit Die: d8

• Bast Attack Bonus: Medium

• High Saves: Fortitude and Will

• Weapon Proficiencies: Simple weapons

• Armor Proficiencies: Light, medium, and heavy armor and shields (except tower shields).

• Skill Points: (2 + Int modifier x 4 at first level) 2 + Int modifier.

• Class Skills: Concentration, Craft Alchemy, Craft Armor, Craft Weapon, Diplomacy, Heal, Lore, Parry, and Spellcraft.

• Spells: A cleric casts divine spells, which are drawn from the cleric spell list. A cleric must choose and prepare his spells in advance. To prepare or cast a spell, a cleric must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell level (Wis 10 for 0-level spells, Wis 11 for 1st levle spells, and so forth).

• Domains: Clerics specialize in two areas of magical expertise called domains. These domains are selected when first becoming a cleric and cannot be changed. Domains grant added spells and sometimes a free feat or special ability.

• Spontaneous Casting: A cleric can channel stored energy into healing spells that the cleric did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can "lose" any prepared spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level.

• Turn Undead: Any cleric has the power to affect undead creatures (such as skeletons, zombies, ghosts, and vampires) by channeling the power of his faith through his holy (or unholy) symbol. A cleric can rebuke or destroy undead creatures.

Epic Level Benefits [MotB Only]

• New feats are gained every other level instead of every third level (levels 21, 23, 25, 27, 29). These feats are in addition to the bonus feats for specific classes.

• Ability score improvements continue every 4 levels (levels 24, 28).

• Base Attack Bonus and Base Saves continue as normal.

• Additional attacks per round with every 5 points of Base Attack Bonus, unlike in tabletop D&D where the base number of attacks is capped at 4.

• +1 DC to all spells every third epic level (23, 26, 29).

• Caster level = class level.

• Turn Undead level continues to increase with class level.

• +1 feat at levels 23, 26, 29 (every 3 levels).