Class: Ranger
Ranger. The Ranger is a warrior and a woodsman. He is skilled with weapons and knowledgeable in the ways of the forest. The Ranger often protects and guides lost travelers and honest peasant-folk. A Ranger needs to be strong and wise to the ways of nature to live a full life.

Hit Dice: d10

Abilities for Dual-Classing: Srength, Dexterity, Wisdom

Alignment: Any Good

  • Weapons and Armor. The Ranger may wear any armor (including shields and helmets) and use any weapon.

  • Specialization. The Ranger may achieve Specialization in any weapon, and may place two proficiency points in any fighting style (three in Two Weapon Style).

  • Two Weapon Style. The Ranger begins with two free points in Two Weapon Style.

  • Racial Enemy. The Ranger chooses a single enemy type during character creation, and thereafter receives a +4 bonus on all damage rolls for attacks made against creatures of that type.

  • Charm Animal. Once per day, plus an additional time for every two levels in this class, the Ranger may cast Charm Animal, as an innate ability. This ability functions like the spell Charm Person, except that it can only target animals.

  • Stealth. The Ranger gains skill points in Hide in Shadows and Move Silently, and can use Stealth to hide from enemies.

  • Spellcasting. Starting at level 8, the Ranger can cast a limited selection of low-level spells from the Druid list.

Kits (EE)

Stalker. Stalkers serve as covert intelligence-gatherers, comfortable in both wilderness and urban settings. They are the spies, informants, and interrogators and their mastery of stealth makes them deadly opponents.

  • Armor. The Stalker may only wear Leather, Studded Leather, or Hide Armor.

  • Stealth Bonus. The Stalker gains a permanent +20% bonus to Move Silently and Hide in Shadows.

  • Wizard Spells. At 12th level, the Stalker learns the following wizard spells: Haste, Protection From Normal Missiles, Minor Spell Deflection.

  • Backstab. The Stalker gains the benefit of the Thief class's backstab multiplier, which multiplies the weapon damage of any successful attack the Stalker makes by two, if the Stalker is using Stealth and standing behind their target. At 9th level, the multiplier increases to x3. At 17th level, it increases to x4.

Archer. The Archer is the epitome of skill with the bow. He is the ultimate marksman, able to make almost any shot, no matter how difficult. To become so skilled with the bow, the archer has had to sacrifice some of his proficiency with melee weapons and armor.

Called Shot
Level Effect
4++1 to target's THAC0
8+-1 to target's Saves vs. Spell
12+-1 to target's Strength
16++2 damage
  • Armor. The Archer may only wear Leather, Studded Leather, or Hide Armor.

  • No Charm Animal. The Archer does not gain any uses of the Charm Animal ability.

  • Proficiency. The Archer may achieve only Proficiency with melee weapons.

  • Grand Mastery. The Archer may achieve Grand Mastery in Shortbows, Longbows, and Crossbows.

  • Marksmanship. The Archer gains a permanent +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls with missile weapons for every three levels in this class.

  • Called Shot. Once per day, plus an additional time for every four levels in this class, the Archer can take careful aim to debilitate a single target. For the next ten seconds once activated, all successful ranged attacks made by the Archer bestow additional cumulative effects, as shown in the table to the right.

Beast Master. This Ranger is a wanderer, not entirely at ease in civilized lands. Her natural affinity for animals is so great that she can communicate with them telepathically, albeit in a limited fashion.

  • Weapons. The Beast Master may not wield metal-based weapons such as swords, halberds, war hammers, or morning stars.

  • Armor. The Beast Master may not wear metal-based armor except for Studded Leather Armor.

  • Stealth Bonus. The Beast Master gains a permanent +15% bonus to Hide in Shadows and Move Silently.

  • Find Familiar. The Beast Master may cast Find Familiar, as the spell, once per day.

  • Animal Summoning. Starting at 8th level, the Beast Master may cast Animal Summoning I as the spell once per day. At 10th level, the Beast Master may cast Animal Summoning II once per day. At 12th level, the Beast Master may cast Animal Summoning III once per day. These abilities are cumulative.