Sony Online Entertainment has announced plans to begin merging twenty of their original EverQuest servers, therefore bringing the total down to ten. Details on how the mergers will be handled can be found below:
Greetings EverQuest Adventurer! I used to run a level 50 Paladin named Jedivh CryoBlade on the Erollisi Marr server back in 1998/1999. I even participated in many of the server's very first successful raids. I wonder if he still exists...
In order to maintain a high level of gameplay across the EverQuest universe, on June 22, 2010, EQ will begin consolidating the following servers. These merges are scheduled to occur between June 22nd and July 6th, 2010.
The next time you log into game once your character has been moved to the new server as a result of the server merge, you will be prompted to transfer servers. If you choose to defer the transfer at that time, you can access the transfer again by typing "/servertransfer" into your in-game window but please note that this service will only be available for the 7-day period following the server merge.
Priority for character names will be based on the date the character was first created. Subsequent players with the same name will have an "x" appended to their name until a unique name can be determined. The same process will be applied to guild names. Players that receive an "X" appended to their Character Names can change it by typing the "/changename" command into their chat window. Guilds that wish to change their names will need to use the "/petition" command.
Accounts with characters below level 10 that have been inactive for six months or more will be purged from the EQ system.
Accounts with More Than Eight Characters
Accounts with characters on the merging servers will have their character names alphabetized, and only the first eight listed will be accessible until characters are deleted to make room. Any characters past the first 8 are not deleted, they are simply inaccessible until one of the first 8 is deleted to make room.
If a player's account has characters on both servers, the most recently updated bank will have priority unless it is empty. Players must empty out the shared bank they don't want to keep before the merge. If players wind up with the wrong shared bank (they didn't empty out the other one in time, etc.) they can use "/petition" to have the other shared bank copied over.
UI and Character Settings
All character UI and character settings will need to be reset.
All corpses will be sent to Shadowrest.
Player information will be updated to reflect new names/guilds/servers.
New servers will allow two of the same artifacts.
-Sony Online Entertainment