Video Card Question

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to BioWare's Neverwinter Nights, its Shadows of Undrentide and Hordes of the Underdark expansion packs, and any user-created or premium modules.
User avatar
Xorekil
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:35 pm
Contact:
Video Card Question

Postby Xorekil » Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:17 am

I have thought about getting NWN but on the system requirements it says 16 MB TNT2-class video card. I was wandering what does TNT2-class mean? I am looking for what it means or somewhere I can go to find out.

User avatar
Nippy
Posts: 5085
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: Reading, England
Contact:

Postby Nippy » Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:23 am

TnT is an Nvidia chipset, it essentially means that it requires that form of chipset on a graphics card, at least, to run properly. I'm not sure what the Voodoo chipset is like, but Nvidia and ATI run well, as far as I know.
Perverteer Paladin

User avatar
Xandax
Posts: 14151
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 12:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Xandax » Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:26 am

And by the way - TNT2 is a rather old card.
Insert signature here.

User avatar
Xorekil
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Xorekil » Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:30 am

anyone know anyway to find out if a card has that?

User avatar
Xandax
Posts: 14151
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 12:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Xandax » Fri Jun 06, 2003 12:26 pm

What graphics card do you have?
Insert signature here.

User avatar
Xorekil
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Xorekil » Fri Jun 06, 2003 1:11 pm

3dfx voodoo3 16mb I think, I am not computer hardware savy.

I do know I wish I had a newer one.

User avatar
Xandax
Posts: 14151
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 12:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Xandax » Fri Jun 06, 2003 1:57 pm

Hmm - I'm not sure that you would be able to run it with such a graphics card - but I've not tried it myself.

According to the NwN faq:
3DFX is no longer in business; although some Voodoo 5 cards may work occasionally they are no longer supported by 3DFX and available drivers do not generally include complete OpenGL support required for Neverwinter Nights. Hence, 3DFX graphics cards are not supported by NWN.
Insert signature here.

User avatar
Xorekil
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 12:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Xorekil » Fri Jun 06, 2003 2:13 pm

ok thanks for the info, I will start looking into graphic cards then and get me a new one.

User avatar
humanflyz
Posts: 614
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: I am omnipresent
Contact:

Postby humanflyz » Fri Jun 06, 2003 8:05 pm

If you want a new video card, I would suggest a GeForce 4 Ti series or ATI Radeon cards of 9600 or higher.
"I find your lack faith of disturbing" -Darth Vader

The Church could use someone like that.

User avatar
DraySkullan
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN
Contact:

Postby DraySkullan » Sat Jun 07, 2003 8:42 am

I started out with an Intel built in video card, which was like 11 MB and sucked royally, BUT I managed to get the game to run somewhat by turning all the video settings to their lowest and installing with no texture pack. It was choppy but playable. When I got the money together for a decent video card it was like heaven. So if you don't have the cash for the new card just yet, at least you know it's possible without it.
"Chaos is the natural state of all things.... and it's fun, too"


Enter the Wombat's Lair!
http://eiwombat.tripod.com

User avatar
Kosala
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:31 am
Contact:

Postby Kosala » Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:48 am

Originally posted by Xandax
What graphics card do you have?


Bioware has stated that the game engine does not support the Voodoo chipsets. I have a voodoo card in one of my computers and NWN crashes the whole time on that machine so I would imagine they were right ;)

So in summary: No the game will not run with a Voodoo card.
best regards

Kosala Ubayasekara
Site Admin
Silven Crossroads - Uniting the RPG gamers of the world
http://www.silven.com

User avatar
James Mason
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 7:47 pm
Contact:

Postby James Mason » Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:37 pm

I bought a new video card for the sole purpose of playing this game. I got an ATI Radeon 9000 for only $79.99 and it has worked very well.
Sometimes I guess there just aren't enough rocks

User avatar
BlackEagle1975
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2001 11:00 pm
Contact:

Postby BlackEagle1975 » Tue Jul 08, 2003 2:55 am

I had a VooDoo 3 3000 and NWN not support this Video Card because need a quality of 32 bit for the colors, but the VooDoo chipset until the VooDoo 3 are only 16 bit for the 3D!

User avatar
knaggsy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 6:36 am
Contact:

Postby knaggsy » Tue Jul 15, 2003 6:40 am

help me radeon 9700 pro.

i have ati radeon 9700 pro.


i played through single player no problems but when i came to playing online. i can someitmes load without a problem but sometimes like once every 3 hours. ill click on a door to traval through it, it will then begin to load. then at the end of the loading bar it stops like its finished loading. then it freezes i hav no mouse pressing alt f4 dont work, ctrl, alt + del dont do now, ctrl an esc dont do owt, esc, dont do owt, alt and tab dont do owt.

then after 2 min or less my pc restarts and it comes up this error is due to a radeon 9700 pro driver error. and ihave the most uptodate drivers on it and it dident do it in single player. how do i fix this anyone?