Opened my save games with notepad..now they are gone!

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to Heuristic Park's Dungeon Lords.
User avatar
WA2
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:07 am
Contact:
Opened my save games with notepad..now they are gone!

Postby WA2 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 1:31 pm

When I opened them it changed them to notepad files...now they do not show up in the save menu!!! HELP

User avatar
Soozie
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 8:30 am
Contact:

Postby Soozie » Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:01 pm

Wa2, try changing the extension to .sav instead of .txt. Maybe it will work.

:)

User avatar
WA2
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:07 am
Contact:

Postby WA2 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:12 pm

I tried that, but it is still showing a notepad icon for the file. =(

User avatar
mAD sUXx
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:19 am
Contact:

Postby mAD sUXx » Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:31 pm

Hm, not sure if I´m right, but with IT you mean WINDOWS?
Windows opens all .sav files with notepad?

Then you should delete the bindings with .sav-files in DATATYPES.
Open Explorer (Windows Explorer - not Internet Explorer)
select EXTRAS from pull down menu and then OPTIONS or FOLDER OPTIONS (i´m running a german version).
Once in DATATYPES select .sav and delete it!

Let us know, if this works and your problem is solved...or not! :confused:

User avatar
Tarsellis
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:30 am
Contact:

Postby Tarsellis » Tue Jul 19, 2005 3:38 pm

Also, if you haven't changed any settings, ESP in XP, then when you save in notepad, it adds a .txt to the end of the file, no matter what, and it won't display that. you might have to open an explorer window (start > run > explorer) and go to tools > folder options > view, and uncheck "hide file extentions" and possibly uncheck hide system/protected files, and dot show hidden files. Just in case you didn't already do that.
Hopefully saving with notepad didn't futz up any hex/bin contents the file had, as while it should, it can.
Good Luck

User avatar
WA2
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:07 am
Contact:

Postby WA2 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:52 pm

Ok, I tired that. I am now getting an error when I load the game..

SAVEGAME THUMBNAILS [679448][9486644] DIMENSION ERROR = [64][64]

User avatar
Tarsellis
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:30 am
Contact:

Postby Tarsellis » Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:59 pm

HEH! You got me. I've got no other good ideas what could be wrong. Others have talked about save games going corrupt, maybe that happened?

At anyrate, it makes no sense to me.