BG as BGII

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to BioWare's Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn.
User avatar
Boris
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: What? You some kinda spy...?
Contact:
BG as BGII

Postby Boris » Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:20 pm

I seem to remember that there is a Mod which allows one to play the original BG (Aah! Bless!) under the BGII Engine.

But I'm afraid that I do not have access to my notes (exploding graphics cards, etc.). So may I ask any clued-up contributor with the answer handy to post it here? Sorry for laziness, etc., but m/c probs seem also to have scrambled my GB/BG brain...

Many thanks in advance,

B.

P.S. Have gotten to the Friendly Arms, but Jeepers! The old i'face seems very hard work...
Wish I had a decent sig...

User avatar
krunchyfrogg
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:19 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Postby krunchyfrogg » Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:33 pm

I think it's bgtutu you're looking for. I'm not sure where to find it, but a search should really help you out.

Just a warning: As with most mods, there are bugs!
A life is not important, except in the impact it has on other lives.
- Jackie Robinson

User avatar
fable
Posts: 30676
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 12:00 pm
Location: The sun, the moon, and the stars.
Contact:

Postby fable » Tue Apr 20, 2004 8:43 pm

Try here. :)
To the Righteous belong the fruits of violent victory. The rest of us will have to settle for warm friends, warm lovers, and a wink from a quietly supportive universe.

User avatar
Daydrius
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:43 pm
Contact:

Postby Daydrius » Tue Apr 20, 2004 9:41 pm

exploding graphics card?! Dude, waaayyyy too much OC'ing

User avatar
Kaitsuburi
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2002 6:03 pm
Location: Hard-Boiled Wonderland
Contact:

Postby Kaitsuburi » Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:59 pm

Can anyone report on the stability of BG1tutu in its current state?

I am tempted ... to start a new BG1 game. The cramped grey screen of BG1 feels nostalgic, but I'd much rather go for a little more resolution. Heck, I do own a Radeon 9800Pro LOL

-kaitsuburi
~~ aim low, deliver.

User avatar
Boris
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 4:41 pm
Location: What? You some kinda spy...?
Contact:

Postby Boris » Thu Apr 22, 2004 6:18 am

BGtutu seems hunky-dory

I've downloaded BGtutu from Fable's link (thank'ee kindly, Sir!) and it seems to work fine.

The only issue I've come across so far is that any NPCs I've encountered are all first-level (am pretty sure J. & K. were 2nd-lvl when first I played). However, this may be because I installed the character Kits, which are optional.

BTW, some BG features still apply - eg. max stacking for arrows, etc. is only 20.

Note that you cannot start using an existing BG Save, though you can Import the PC from one - the game starts in Candlekeep, as usual.

B.
Wish I had a decent sig...

User avatar
Littiz
Posts: 1465
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The Valley
Contact:

Postby Littiz » Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:47 am

As I understand, TuTu is no longer supported by Japhet.
The newest fixpack for TuTu can be found here. :)
BG2 - ToB Refinements Mod: Website

BG2 - ToB Refinements Mod: Forum and announcements

"Ever forward, my darling wind..."