When installing im asked for cd5 But cd5 doesnt exsist

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to BioWare's Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn.
User avatar
vomitpunk
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 11:12 am
Contact:
When installing im asked for cd5 But cd5 doesnt exsist

Postby vomitpunk » Wed Sep 04, 2002 11:17 am

Everytime i try to install wheather it be full or minimal or custom, After inserting all 4 cd's it then asks me to insert cd5 but cd5 doesnt exsist and i cant installl the game anymore. ANyone know how to fix this? Ive tried disbling DMA on my cdrom, and turning its read speed down but that didnt help anyone got any ideas?

User avatar
Bloodstalker
Posts: 15512
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Hell if I know
Contact:

Postby Bloodstalker » Wed Sep 04, 2002 11:48 am

Have you checked Biowares homepage? They have a list of known issues, and I think this may be one of them :)
Lord of Lurkers

Guess what? I got a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell!

User avatar
Stilgar
Posts: 4079
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 11:00 am
Location: The Netherlands - Sietch Tabr
Contact:

Postby Stilgar » Wed Sep 04, 2002 11:52 am

I know a solution, buy a legal copy of the game.

Everyone who has a copied version get's that problem!!!!
[color="DarkRed"]I do not have the touch, nor do I have the power.[/color]

User avatar
Bloodstalker
Posts: 15512
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Hell if I know
Contact:

Postby Bloodstalker » Wed Sep 04, 2002 11:53 am

From Biowares Known issues

If you are having problems getting the game to install or the game is asking for a CD5, you may want to try some of the following suggestions.


1When changing CDs during the installation, let the drive spin-up and then stop. Then click OK and see if the installer recognizes the disc change. Do this for all the CDs that are requested.

2Try checking for a firmware/BIOS update for your CD or DVD drive. We have had several reports of sucessfull installs of the game once a firmware update was applied. You will have to check with your CD/DVD drive manufacturer for this kind of update.
If for whatever reason you are unable to do a Recommended or Full install, but you can do a Minimum install, please read How to "fake" a larger install from a Minimum.

3If you have multiple CD/DVD drives, only install from one and do not try to use all of your drives. For some reason, this is confusing InstallShield.

4If you cannot do any install without getting some sort of error or crash and you have about 5 Gig of free hard drive space, you can try to copy all 4 CDs to your hard drive, then run the install from there. Please note, you must copy all 4 CDs to the same directory for the install to run. If you get prompted for the next CD, then you have not copied the files over properly, or you have missed some.

5Try turning off DMA for your CD/DVD drive. For some people, this has allowed them to install. You can find this checkbox by going to your Control Panel, then to System, then to the Device Manager tab. Find your CD/DVD drive and bring up its Properties, then go to the Settings tab.

6Try turning off your CD/DVD read-ahead. For some people, this has allowed them to install. You can find this slider by going to your Control Panel, then to System, then to the Performance tab. Down in the Advanced Settings frame, press the File System... button and move the slider all the way to the left. You may need to restart for this setting to take effect
Lord of Lurkers

Guess what? I got a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell!

User avatar
Stilgar
Posts: 4079
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 11:00 am
Location: The Netherlands - Sietch Tabr
Contact:

Postby Stilgar » Wed Sep 04, 2002 11:54 am

If you have a legal copy you're the first i've heared of that has that problem.
But if you have a legal copy, I appolagize for my above post.
[color="DarkRed"]I do not have the touch, nor do I have the power.[/color]

User avatar
Yshania
Posts: 8572
Joined: Wed May 09, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Some Girls Wander By Mistake
Contact:

Postby Yshania » Wed Sep 04, 2002 3:16 pm

Originally posted by Stilgar

If you have a legal copy you're the first i've heared of that has that problem.
But if you have a legal copy, I appolagize for my above post.


This is a well known issue which is why it is on Bioware's site ;) I have posted what BS has kindly done here on quite a few occasions in this forum, I have also had this problem myself, as has my sister. Not everyone out there are pirates. :)

@vomitpunk, what worked for my sister was turning the DMA of the CDrom drive (but that took a long time to install), for me I copied all of the disks to my hard drive and ran the installation from there. Good luck :)
Parachute for sale, like new! Never opened!
Guinness, black goes with everything.

User avatar
Stilgar
Posts: 4079
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 11:00 am
Location: The Netherlands - Sietch Tabr
Contact:

Postby Stilgar » Wed Sep 04, 2002 3:44 pm

Originally posted by Yshania


This is a well known issue which is why it is on Bioware's site ;) I have posted what BS has kindly done here on quite a few occasions in this forum, I have also had this problem myself, as has my sister. Not everyone out there are pirates. :)

@vomitpunk, what worked for my sister was turning the DMA of the CDrom drive (but that took a long time to install), for me I copied all of the disks to my hard drive and ran the installation from there. Good luck :)


I know, but i know from about 5people in my surroundings that they had the problem with illigal copys, while i never heared about it when someone has a legal copy.

EDIT: Sorry whe didn't introduce proparrly, me directly making aquisations (big SP?).
Welcome to the board
[color="DarkRed"]I do not have the touch, nor do I have the power.[/color]

User avatar
The fallen one
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Contact:

Postby The fallen one » Wed Sep 04, 2002 9:43 pm

Welcome.

Vomitpunk welcome to the board. The only time that I had problems with needing a extra disk is when i changed CD-ROM drives the only way I solved it is to put the old drive back in the PC. Have you made any changes to you r CD-ROM drive. :D

User avatar
free_fall
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 6:10 pm
Location: so cal
Contact:

Postby free_fall » Thu Sep 05, 2002 6:36 pm

During the install, it reads disk #1, #2, #3, #4 and then it asks you for disk *#1* again. You might try #1 when it asks you for #5.
free_fall

... and when I look at you I think, if I were a psychopath and we were standing on an extremely high cliff above a pounding surf that would drown out your scream ... well ... you know ...

User avatar
vomitpunk
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 11:12 am
Contact:

Postby vomitpunk » Thu Sep 05, 2002 11:12 pm

Hey ive tried everythign and still no luck.

Bloodstalker: I was at that page the other night tried it all and didnt work.

Stilgar: It *is* a legal copy. When a great game like this is made, I choose to support the makers hard work if i can spare the money yknow? and dont worry about yuor comments, no offense was taken in the 1st place.

Free_fall: Tried putting in cd1 when it asked for cd5, didnt work and i tried dthe other ones too.

Im officially tapped for ideas, thnx for trying to help guys

User avatar
Yshania
Posts: 8572
Joined: Wed May 09, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Some Girls Wander By Mistake
Contact:

Postby Yshania » Fri Sep 06, 2002 12:55 pm

@vomitpunk, I haven't known anyone be unable to run the installation from the hard drive yet...did you try copying all the disks across?... :)
Parachute for sale, like new! Never opened!
Guinness, black goes with everything.

User avatar
jaxaxe
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2002 4:24 am
Location: on the top of a very tall tree, where all the star
Contact:

Postby jaxaxe » Sat Sep 07, 2002 3:21 am

this happened to me, i tried all of these solutions, and none of them worked, but what i found is that if you clean the disca with a cloth, it works!!, (well it did with me).

@vomitpunk, i totally agree with you about not copying games, my friend offered to copy neverwinter nights for me, but i bought ismyself instead, i like to have the manual and map, and box and all the other stuff that comes with the game
beware! your knees are mine!- jan jansen

go for the eyes boo, go for the eyes!!- minsc

EVIL- MEET MY TRUSTY SWORD- SWORD MEET EVIL!!-minsc