ToEE Patch/Updates Thread (Replies accepted, but no spam, please.)

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to Troika Games' Temple of Elemental Evil.
User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:
ToEE Patch/Updates Thread (Replies accepted, but no spam, please.)

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:46 pm

I don't suppose a list of patches, fixes, and other such links couldn't hurt. :cool:

First of all... here's:

Patch 2

link to Circle of Eight Patch 3.03
(Note: Other fixes included.)

I'll add anything else I find in the future.
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Sun Dec 12, 2004 12:05 pm

Since the other Co8 link seems to be down...

here's the newest link to Co8 patch 3.0.4

Click here.

Note that this does include:
- The level cap remover.

- NPCs leveling up like PC characters

- fixes to allow up to 6 PC characters

Disclaimer: Also note that there may be some bugs that this patch or any other may add. Whether you use the patch or not is up to you.
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
Mulligan
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 11:13 am
Location: The Far Side Of The World
Contact:

Postby Mulligan » Thu Dec 16, 2004 12:15 am

6 PC's ?

This may seem like a stupid Q...
But : How do you make 6 PC's initially ??..
I havent made it work yet....
:mad: Oh, When all else fail, put the Dwarf up front!

User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Thu Dec 16, 2004 10:38 am

[QUOTE=Mulligan]This may seem like a stupid Q...
But : How do you make 6 PC's initially ??..
I havent made it work yet....[/QUOTE]

It's part of a mod/fan-fix.
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Thu Dec 30, 2004 2:23 pm

Attention: Patch 3 Now Available!

The 3rd Official Patch is now available!

The most notable fix is to permit looting with DirectX 9.0c. I'll post whatever else I can find.

Download it here!
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
Baalzebul
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 3:13 pm
Contact:

Postby Baalzebul » Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:44 pm

Patch 3

This is probably the dumbest question ever asked, but do you know if patch 3 also contains all the fixes from patches 1 & 2? The reason I'm asking is because both patch 1 & 2 come with a note that patch 2 will contain all the fixes from patch 1, but patch 3 does not carry any similar note.

Thanks, and sorry for being lame.

User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Mon Jan 10, 2005 1:24 pm

[QUOTE=Baalzebul]This is probably the dumbest question ever asked, but do you know if patch 3 also contains all the fixes from patches 1 & 2? The reason I'm asking is because both patch 1 & 2 come with a note that patch 2 will contain all the fixes from patch 1, but patch 3 does not carry any similar note.

Thanks, and sorry for being lame.[/QUOTE]

Not sure as of yet. I'm waiting to get the full word on the patch from Atari's ToEE forum (they
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:24 pm

For any notes and questions on Co8 patches or fixes, go to Co8's new forum here.
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
bariumdose
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 6:46 pm
Contact:

Postby bariumdose » Tue May 17, 2005 7:16 pm

Patch help - plzzz!

I downloaded all the Atari patches and installed them. When I tried to play the game, it comes up with an error message saying that I need to insert the Play Disc. Well, the Play Disc is already in the drive. I turned off the computer and rebotted, but that doesn't work. I even reinstalled ToEE (argh, I lost my saved game!) and then tried applying the patches, but that didn't work either.

How do you get the patches to work?

Any help much appreciated.

User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Tue May 17, 2005 7:50 pm

[QUOTE=bariumdose]I downloaded all the Atari patches and installed them. When I tried to play the game, it comes up with an error message saying that I need to insert the Play Disc. Well, the Play Disc is already in the drive. I turned off the computer and rebotted, but that doesn't work. I even reinstalled ToEE (argh, I lost my saved game!) and then tried applying the patches, but that didn't work either.

How do you get the patches to work?

Any help much appreciated.[/QUOTE]

Which patches did you install, and in which order?

The ideal setup of patches are in this order from first to last.
1) Troika Patch 2
2) Co8 Patch/Mod
3) Moebius Temple.dll

Troika Patch 3 only fixes the looting bug that's covered by either Temple.dll or the latest Co8 patch. Troika Patch 1 has fixes that are covered by Patch 2, so it isn't necessary.

If you're not looking for the added content that the Co8 fix adds, then only go with Troika #2 and Temple.dll

If that doesn't work, then Lord Plothos may be more likely to help you.
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
bariumdose
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 6:46 pm
Contact:

Postby bariumdose » Wed May 18, 2005 8:45 am

Patch problems

Hi,

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly - really appreicate it. What I did was click on the link for Patch 2 (in your first post in this thread), which took me to the Atari site and the three Patches 1, 2, and 3. The first time I downloaded and installed Patch 2 and 3, because Patch 1 is included in Patch 2. That didn't take, so I installed all three patches in sequence. And that didn't take either. I keep getting an error message saying that I have to insert the Play Disc, which is already in the drive.

Any other advice?

Thanks,

Gene

User avatar
sdwillie
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2002 1:32 am
Location: On the corner keepin it real
Contact:

Postby sdwillie » Wed May 18, 2005 2:37 pm

This is a stupid question/suggestion, but since it's usually the simple things that cause problems did you check your directx version? Patch 3 only applies to dx 9.0c.
"Winston, if you were my husband I would poison your coffee." Lady Nancy Astor
"If you were my wife, Madam, I would surely drink it." Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
bariumdose
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 6:46 pm
Contact:

Postby bariumdose » Wed May 18, 2005 7:13 pm

Patch help - plzzz!

I'm pretty clueless as far as what version of DirectX I have. How do I find out?

But, in any case, even if patch 3 doesn't work, shouldn't patch 2 (which covers a lot of the bugs in ToEE) work regardless of what version of DirectX I have?

Any advice would be most appreciated.

User avatar
sdwillie
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2002 1:32 am
Location: On the corner keepin it real
Contact:

Postby sdwillie » Sat May 21, 2005 1:35 pm

Sorry for not getting this to you sooner-just finished finals and had to celebrate for a couple days

Direct X version is found by running the Direct X Diagnostic Tool:

Go START-RUN and enter dxdiag, which opens the tool in its own window. Your version is bottom center, the last entry in the System Information box. Assuming you're running a Windows version later than 9X and have automatic updates on you should have DX 9.0c but maybe not.

Running the game patched to a DX version that you don't have might cause similar problems to running an unpatched game with updated DX. It shouldn't be a problem, but since Windows is a little goofy getting these things to agree is a simple way to eliminate one potential source of your problem.
"Winston, if you were my husband I would poison your coffee." Lady Nancy Astor
"If you were my wife, Madam, I would surely drink it." Sir Winston Churchill

User avatar
bariumdose
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 6:46 pm
Contact:

Postby bariumdose » Mon May 23, 2005 10:40 am

DirectX

Thanks for replying. I think I got the Patch 2 working. I do have DirectX 9.0 so the Patch should be compatible with my game.

Do you know if Patch 3 actually works? I've heard that it doesn't. Also, do you know where I can get a working copy of the Co8 patch? I'm trying to sift through Co8's forum, but it's getting tedious.

User avatar
Galuf the Dwarf
Posts: 3160
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:00 am
Location: Connecticut, a place of open land, hills, forests,
Contact:

Postby Galuf the Dwarf » Mon May 23, 2005 12:55 pm

[QUOTE=bariumdose]Also, do you know where I can get a working copy of the Co8 patch? I'm trying to sift through Co8's forum, but it's getting tedious.[/QUOTE]

You'll find an immediate link to the Co8 patches through here. Just click on the links in mjck7's last reply.
Dungeon Crawl Inc.: It's the most fun you can have without 3 midgets and a whip! Character stats made by your's truly!

User avatar
ohboy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:36 pm
Contact:

Postby ohboy » Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:41 pm

patch2 making game unplayable

When I install Patch 2 -- even if I install no other patches -- the game becomes unplayable. When I try to run the game, I get a message asking me to insert the play disc, even though it is definitely in the drive. I'm running XP, if that makes a difference.

Any solution? Apologies if this is a frequently asked question, I couldn't find an answer.

User avatar
surtr
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:17 pm
Contact:

Postby surtr » Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:21 pm

same here

no matter what patches i insatall in what order the game tells me too insert the play disc. also i woundt really worry about it myself but i was just getting close to finally finishing my persoal mission of killing every living thing(ok, just the evil guys, which is almost everyone) in the temple.
argh...

User avatar
Werefish
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Postby Werefish » Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:49 pm

Problem after patch

I am having the same problem as ohboy and sutr, and others I gather. My system requirements are good and I have SP2, directx is up to date, before I installed patch 2 I had no problems starting the game, and after installing Patch 2 and then the files from Temple.zip (as recomended), I get the message that I need to insert the play disk, which is definently in the drive! What gives??? I have followed as many posts as I can to find the solution, but there does not seem to be one yet. Did Atari make any store bought disk versions with the patches in place? I am stoked about playing this game, but I want to fix the problems before I invest too much time. Please...if there is any help to be had I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Lord Plothos
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Lord Plothos » Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 pm

I have now PMed each of you regarding a fix for this.
[color="PaleTurquoise"]Proud user and advocate of [url="http://rptools.net/doku.php?id=maptool:intro"]MapTool[/url]for all my RPing-at-a-distance.[/color]
[color="DeepSkyBlue"](Use the lastest 1.3 build - it's still beta, but stable and far better than 1.2)[/color]