Thin screen monitors

If you have technical questions regarding computers, consoles, or the games we play on them, post them in here.
Lazarus
Thin screen monitors

Postby Lazarus » Fri Dec 20, 2002 8:14 am

OK, I admit I have no knowledge in this area - hence this post.

I'm looking to buy a new computer within the next three to six months (I know - it's an eternity in computer time), and I would like to get one of these here new-fangled thin monitors that look so sleek and take up so little space.

I have heard, however, that these monitors don't perform like the big monster I have on my desk now - especially for games. And I like games. I don't play Doom-like stuff. More RPG and strategy games that (I think) are less video-intensive. But I do watch DVD movies on my computer. (I don't own a TV.)

Could someone give me the scoop on these things? Can they handle my usage? Anyone know of a good manufacturer? Any websites you could link to that would give some background? Are these monitors rapidly improving, so that three months will see a dramatic change in quality?

Thanks, in advance.
A is A . . . but Siouxsie defies definition.

Lazarus' fun site o' the month: Daily Ablutions.

Mr Sleep

Postby Mr Sleep » Fri Dec 20, 2002 8:56 am

Originally posted by Lazarus
Are these monitors rapidly improving, so that three months will see a dramatic change in quality?

I'll answer in full later but they are certainly coming down in price rapidly.
I'd have to get drunk every night and talk about virility...And those Pink elephants I'd see.

KidD01

Postby KidD01 » Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:01 am

If you are refering to LCD monitors, don't waste your money on it. It's true they have less radiation than CRT monitors and have sleek thin design which makes your desk roomy. Yet with RPG gaming and intense long hours of usage the liquid inside the LCD will eventually burnt out.