Exploit - infinite high level abilities

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to BioWare's Baldur's Gate II: Throne of Bhaal expansion pack.
User avatar
Dimensional
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: The Death Pit's Of Larrg
Contact:
Exploit - infinite high level abilities

Postby Dimensional » Wed Aug 22, 2001 1:10 am

I am sure others have noticed this but I have not noticed anyone bringing it up.

Last night After installing the new patch I returned to my Solo Archer Game (which I had put on hold due to the rate of fire bug) anyway I played for about 20 min and in due course gained a level

while leveling i chose power attack wanting to get critical strike (which rocks when combine with WW attack) but after accepting my level the game brought up the you are wearing items which your new class yadda yadda - do you want to level . being a bit confused - as i had not hacked or changed any equipment in this game i said no and then went to check my inventory - Turns out the new patch disabalows Rangers using amulet of Power (or atleast Archers) so I shrugged and returned to level my Char. only to find that i could now choose critical strike as one of my abilities i acepted and onece again was offered the you are wearing... i again cancled wanting to check if i had actually gained the abilites or it was just some wierd bug. and sure enough My char had at this point 1 power attack and one critical strike - Theoreticaly you could do this until you got bored , although of course you would first have to hack your char to be wearing something he could not in fact use.

Interesting anyway.

:D
They say to truly understand reality one must learn to think in Seven Dimensions

Understand there is no chaos - Only a pattern to large for your mind to grasp

User avatar
rapier
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby rapier » Thu Aug 23, 2001 11:37 am

Ummm...I barely understood a word...
Visit
[url="http://www.fanfiction.net"]www.fanfiction.net[/url]

User avatar
Silvanerian
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2001 10:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Silvanerian » Thu Aug 23, 2001 6:10 pm

I understood perfectly. In short, I think you've just discovered the ultimate cheese tactic.

-Silvanerian
Qualis Artefix Pereo

User avatar
Kellen
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: U.S.A
Contact:

Postby Kellen » Thu Aug 23, 2001 8:47 pm

Not cheese, I would call it cheating. Not in this case, but seeing as you most likely would have to hack a unusable item to your character, why not just hack the abilities?
Kellen

User avatar
Xrist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2001 10:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Xrist » Fri Aug 24, 2001 7:22 am

Shadowkeeper never let me "hack" extra abilities like you suggest.

In fact I tried to add a couple more Innate abilities using Shadowkeeper.

With a Dualclass PC you gain special abilities at 3mil exp in the SECOND class...not a total of first and second class, this is a bug that has been addressed with the most recent patch...but ONLY for new games.

So I wanted to add a couple more innate skills (think it was 2-3 that I was missing), but when I tried to add them, shadowkeeper would say I had the max amount of skills for my level *shrug* oh well, guess I will live without a couple skills.

User avatar
Sabre
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby Sabre » Fri Aug 24, 2001 8:20 am

Go to the Settings menu at the top, click on Spells..., uncheck the use limit boxes. That should help.