Baldur's Gate and Windows 7

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to BioWare's Baldur's Gate and Baldur's Gate: Tales of the Sword Coast expansion pack.
User avatar
Fearless
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 1:14 am
Location: adelaide
Contact:
Baldur's Gate and Windows 7

Postby Fearless » Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:40 am

A simple question

will Windows 7 run Baldur's Gate and others of the same period???? :confused:
[color="RoyalBlue"][/color]Silence is a virtue from which the prophets drew and none besides

User avatar
Edar Macilrille
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:48 am
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Contact:

Postby Edar Macilrille » Mon Feb 01, 2010 5:36 am

You be the tester ;-)

I keep an XP PC set aside for BG...

User avatar
RPGguy
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:24 am
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Postby RPGguy » Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:01 am

ya, no idea.

I still run XP. You couldn't pay me to use Vista and there is no way I am trying Windows 7 until I hear it is stable, efficient and runs what I want.

Am interested in hearing about whether it will run under W7 as well
Spokesman for the Play with Cernd Foundation.
Author of such notable threads as 'Chicken in the Fridge'

User avatar
Crenshinibon
Posts: 2665
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Crenshinibon » Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:29 am

While I haven't tried Baldur's Gate on Windows 7, I am running Fallout just fine... mostly.
.
The game runs normally, though there are some graphical quirks, but I'd blame the video card for that.

If I have time, I'll try installing Baldur's Gate.
[font="Times New Roman"]“The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially.”[/font]

User avatar
Fearless
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 1:14 am
Location: adelaide
Contact:

Postby Fearless » Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:19 pm

Thanks guys

You all seem to think as I do.

Retailers would of course have you believe it will, but I got burnt when I changed from XP to Vista and found that I had to pay big bucks to change back, so I thought, I'll seek the advice of the experts. So until I get positive proof, I am staying with XP. If anyone finds out before I do let me know. :)
[color="RoyalBlue"][/color]Silence is a virtue from which the prophets drew and none besides

User avatar
Edar Macilrille
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:48 am
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Contact:

Postby Edar Macilrille » Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:15 am

Yes, Vista sucks and the only way to get XP reinstalled is to partition your harddrive so you smash the files. Then install XP.

I just hope I can get BG running on the new old XP PC I got when the old one fried its own harddisc...


RPGGuy, may I suggest instead of making BG II, you make BG compatible with new OS? At some point it will be incompatible and we will be in trouble.

User avatar
mistertrek
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:34 pm
Location: PA
Contact:

Postby mistertrek » Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:49 am

I've been running mine on Windows 7 for several weeks with only 1 crash. I believe it was other software related as W7 found a crash reason, and after I downloaded that patch it has been fine since then.

The only issue I did have was finding a way to transfer my multiplayer created party from my old system to the new one. Never did get an answer to that question that I posted on this forum.

User avatar
Edar Macilrille
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:48 am
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Contact:

Postby Edar Macilrille » Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:23 am

Probably because no one can help you. If you are the pioneer amongst us using 7...

As an interesting sidenote. The guy creating World in Flames for Computers (MWiF), World in Flames being the absolute hugest and most complex boardgame there is, still uses XP for doing so as Vista sucks and 7 likely still has its child diseases.

User avatar
Crenshinibon
Posts: 2665
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Crenshinibon » Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:29 am

I installed Baldur's Gate on Windows 7 and it works great. The preview movies have a good amount of graphical quirks, but the gameplay itself is flawless. I have not looked at how well the in-game movies are displayed.
[font="Times New Roman"]“The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially.”[/font]

User avatar
Fearless
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 1:14 am
Location: adelaide
Contact:

Postby Fearless » Fri Mar 19, 2010 9:33 pm

BG & Windows7

Well guys,

I finally took the plunge, not by choice I might add. My screen decided to die. I wanted to mods anyway, so I took the risk. It has paid off. 7 is running fine with BG and if that is the case then BG II and Icewindale will run just as wellif not better

Cheers Fearless
[color="RoyalBlue"][/color]Silence is a virtue from which the prophets drew and none besides

User avatar
krissyboie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:59 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Postby krissyboie » Sat Mar 20, 2010 6:05 am

Icewind Dale 2 runs great on windows 7, no crashes or bugs.

User avatar
Darth Malignus
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:07 am
Contact:

Postby Darth Malignus » Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:54 pm

I've had no problems with any of my Infinity games in Windows 7. So far.

User avatar
sparky_kat
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 8:51 pm
Location: anywhere but in a normal existance
Contact:

Postby sparky_kat » Sat Mar 27, 2010 4:49 pm

i just installed BGII last night and have had no issues yet ( couldnt install BGI as my cousin has yet to return my disc to me :mad: :rolleyes: ) also installed NVN and has been running excellent after upgrade and patch.
:D [SIZE="3"]Smile.... That way they wont know what your thinking[/size] :p

[QUOTE=Tricky;990202]I can't really tell if I can't read that because I'm too drunk or because you are. :p [/QUOTE]
[QUOTE=Claudius;990251]Lets hope it was both of us :) [/QUOTE]

User avatar
Darth Malignus
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:07 am
Contact:

Postby Darth Malignus » Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:38 pm

I have a problem with BG in Windows 7. After installing, running the game tells me that it can only run on English systems, and then it aborts. My version of Windows is set up as English, and I'm sort of at a loss. Reinstalling doesn't work...

User avatar
DRG
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: Santa Barbara
Contact:

Postby DRG » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:02 pm

BG II .ini file in W7

I've been playing BG II SOA on Windows 7 for about a week and have had no problems. However, I'd like to be able to access the .ini file in order do a little cheating :o and the system says I don't have access. Does anyone know how to change the file permissions in W7? My local computer geek says it may not be possible since BG II was not written for W7.

User avatar
Crenshinibon
Posts: 2665
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:35 pm
Contact:

Postby Crenshinibon » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:44 pm

It's usually the UAC that's preventing you from accessing the .ini file. If you disable it, then you should have no problems.

This can be done by going to the Control Panel, selecting "User Accounts" and then choosing the "Change User Account Control settings" and setting the slider to "never notify".
[font="Times New Roman"]“The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially.”[/font]

User avatar
wise grimwald
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:56 am
Contact:

Postby wise grimwald » Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:09 am

Darth Malignus wrote:I have a problem with BG in Windows 7. After installing, running the game tells me that it can only run on English systems, and then it aborts. My version of Windows is set up as English, and I'm sort of at a loss. Reinstalling doesn't work...


Make sure that you have downloaded the latest patch and for the right region of the world. There were (possibly still are) some American versions being sold in the UK, but the patches rectify this.

User avatar
Intifada
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:52 am
Location: sweden
Contact:

Postby Intifada » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:12 am

While I'm using Vista 64, not 7, I have run into troubles with some older games. This is what works for me, and there may be similar options in 7:

Disable UAC or similar "computer noob protection". (as other people already said)

Right click the shortcut or exe -> Properties -> compatibility.
The ones to try are "Run this program in compatibility mode for win X", "Disable visual themes", "disable desktop composition".

User avatar
wise grimwald
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:56 am
Contact:

Postby wise grimwald » Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:53 pm

For Vista, I have heard that it is best not to install in the programs folder.

That is just hearsay though.

User avatar
HandsomeDevil
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:11 am
Contact:

Postby HandsomeDevil » Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:31 pm

I had the "save failed" error message...

It's Christmas, so it's time for me to break out BG2 again. However, I was having problems reinstalling it with Windows 7, I kept getting the "Save failed. Quit game?" error message.

I ended up wiping it and re-installing it outside the "Program Files" in a new folder I called "games" and it seems to be working just fine. I re-installed BG2 (SoA and ToB) and I've downloaded the patches and the Dungeon-be-Gone tweak and everything's working well.

I found the advice to switch up the folders here, so I thought I'd report back in case any other lurkers needed this info.

So thanks for the info guys and have fun storming the castle. Right now, Korgan and I have tomb to raid.