Horrible cursed bug

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to Black Isle Studios' Planescape: Torment.
User avatar
Rodo
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 11:00 pm
Contact:
Horrible cursed bug

Postby Rodo » Sat Oct 06, 2001 2:11 pm

Has anyone else had this bug?
It happens every time I try to go to the northwest sector of the hive. What happens is, the game auto-saves just fine and then with no reson at all the game just closes and I go back to windows. This happened with both entrences to the sector and because I can't go there I can't go to Ragpicker's square and therefore cannot continue with the game. I've already been to the sector many times. I tried both installing the patch and re-installing the game but nothing helped. :mad:
You can never hope to grasp the source of our power. We are forever.

User avatar
fable
Posts: 30676
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 12:00 pm
Location: The sun, the moon, and the stars.
Contact:

Postby fable » Sat Oct 06, 2001 3:05 pm

Then it's probably something on your system. Is anything else, any TSR, running in the background? How much memory do you have? Have you got the latest video and audio drivers for your cards?
To the Righteous belong the fruits of violent victory. The rest of us will have to settle for warm friends, warm lovers, and a wink from a quietly supportive universe.

User avatar
C Elegans
Posts: 9935
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The space within
Contact:

Postby C Elegans » Sat Oct 06, 2001 9:57 pm

No, I never had this problem. Sometimes my game crashed when I went into shops, especially the Tatoo parlour and a shop later in the game, but then I just reloaded my save and everything was fine.

I hope you manage to fix the problem. :(
"There are in fact two things, science and opinion; the former begets knowledge, the latter ignorance." - Hippocrates

Moderator of Planescape: Torment, Diablo I & II and Dungeon Siege forums

User avatar
Rodo
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 11:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Rodo » Sun Oct 07, 2001 12:53 am

I have the latest drivers for everything, seeing as how I converted to win2k a few months ago. I guess the only option for me now is to start a new game and hope this doen't happen again.
You can never hope to grasp the source of our power. We are forever.

User avatar
fable
Posts: 30676
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 12:00 pm
Location: The sun, the moon, and the stars.
Contact:

Postby fable » Sun Oct 07, 2001 4:55 am

So you're not going to say how much memory you have? ;)

And are you running any programs in the background?

Did you try moving your savegame folder, uninstalling, reinstalling, then putting your savegame folder back in place?

Do you have an earlier saved game that you can use to attempt getting into that area?
To the Righteous belong the fruits of violent victory. The rest of us will have to settle for warm friends, warm lovers, and a wink from a quietly supportive universe.

User avatar
Rodo
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 11:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Rodo » Sun Oct 07, 2001 9:33 am

Memory wise, I'm fine
What I did was uninstall (again), delete everything left including the savegames and started a new game. This game wewnt about really well (since I knew what I was doing) but then when I went into the Maseulium (after doing lots of the other mini quests) anyway, I finished the Maseulium quest and then it HAPPENED AGAIN. I can't leave the Maseulium!

I'm dumping the game. At least BG2 was always kind to me.
You can never hope to grasp the source of our power. We are forever.

User avatar
fable
Posts: 30676
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2001 12:00 pm
Location: The sun, the moon, and the stars.
Contact:

Postby fable » Sun Oct 07, 2001 1:53 pm

Like I said, it's not the game. It's your system. And since you won't give us the details, my only recommendation can be to speak with an Interplay tech rep. Maybe you'll give him what he needs to figure out your problem. ;)
To the Righteous belong the fruits of violent victory. The rest of us will have to settle for warm friends, warm lovers, and a wink from a quietly supportive universe.

User avatar
C Elegans
Posts: 9935
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The space within
Contact:

Postby C Elegans » Mon Oct 08, 2001 8:09 pm

@Rodo: It must be something with your system, I've never heard of these problems before. It might be a conflict between the game and your graphic card, sound card or something else. Like fable, I recommend you to contact the tech support.
"There are in fact two things, science and opinion; the former begets knowledge, the latter ignorance." - Hippocrates

Moderator of Planescape: Torment, Diablo I & II and Dungeon Siege forums

User avatar
Rodo
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2001 11:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Rodo » Thu Oct 11, 2001 9:41 am

Oh, it's definitely my system
There are problems with the win2k versions of my display adapters.
I started playing the game on another computer.
You can never hope to grasp the source of our power. We are forever.

User avatar
RPGeek
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 26, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: See ICQ
Contact:

Postby RPGeek » Wed Oct 24, 2001 9:54 am

I had a similiar problem on IWD, where one of the maps were corrupt, and each time I entered that particular map, same thing occured. Mayhaps something might have damaged your disc?

[ 10-24-2001: Message edited by: RPgeek ]
All that can go wrong, will, unless it doesn't, but then, it might anyway.
Xaosetic version of Murphy's Law.