Never have finished it because of PC upgrades

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to Stormfront Studios' Pool of Radiance: Ruins of Myth Drannor.
User avatar
jam
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contact:
Never have finished it because of PC upgrades

Postby jam » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:18 am

I just found 'GameBanshee' so my hope has jumped up, with your help probably. I remember buying this game years ago and I think it was on the 'Amiga'. Very basic but very good anyway. Then I bought my first computer, (95/98), but I think it would not run on XP. I stored the game away and forgot all about it.
I upgraded from XP to 'Vista' then 'Windows 7'. Much later on I tried to load PoR and to my surprise it loaded but a few faults: Semi transparent characters/monsters; only voices/printed words of others; boxes, doors, etc., not showing but could be played. At this point I must state that I'm not an "computer engineer", much to my embarrassment. I load a game, use short cut keys, switch on and off, that's it. Anyway, I found "patches" and a way to: "make it load on Windows 7". In the past I've managed, (easy), patches but this lot was way above my head, I've tried all failed.
The final straw came up. I saved the game as I had done loads of times but this time I pressed the "load game" but it terminated the game because of a fault.
So, do I finally dump the game in the bin or is there a chance getting it to run properly?
Sorry for my 'War and Peace' "few words"

User avatar
swcarter
Posts: 3274
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Postby swcarter » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:41 am

What did you do to make POR run on Windows 7? The last time I played it, I used DOSBox. That was under XP a few years ago, but I didn't have any problems running the game with it.

Btw, I'm moving this thread to the General Discussion forum. You posted in the POR: Ruins of Myth Drannor forum, which is for a different game.

SWC
Sir Edmund: "Should you obey the lord who asks you to put a village of innocents to the torch? Is that chivalrous? Is it noble?"
Me: "It's a great way to get promoted, I know that much."

User avatar
Olegg
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:02 am
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Postby Olegg » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:51 am

Was it original PoR you meant? Or might it be PoR2?

If it's the latter then just to patch it may be insufficient to get it working on some systems (particularly, with ATI/AMD graphics cards). In that case one should apply MACT (Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit iirc).

If however it's the former then what swcarter said should suffice.
Instead of my thinking
I should've been drinking

The Animals, Good Times (properly edited)

User avatar
jam
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby jam » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:24 am

swcarter wrote:What did you do to make POR run on Windows 7? The last time I played it, I used DOSBox. That was under XP a few years ago, but I didn't have any problems running the game with it.

Btw, I'm moving this thread to the General Discussion forum. You posted in the POR: Ruins of Myth Drannor forum, which is for a different game.

SWC


I just tried pool of radiance on windows 7 and was most surprised when it loaded. I don’t think I could run it on XP but I might be wrong as it was a long time ago. I’ve still got my old computer running XP but it broken down.

I’ll look for the forum you passed my thread onto, thank very much.


User avatar
jam
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby jam » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:32 am

The version I have is: Pool of Radiance - ruins of Myth Drannor. I bought it when it first came out.
As I stated id my introduction I'm usless at loading games that need alterations. I tried 'microsoft application compatibility toolkit' but I got stuck right at the start.

User avatar
swcarter
Posts: 3274
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Postby swcarter » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:05 am

And so it turns out you posted in the right forum after all. (The bit about the Amiga threw me, since POR:ROMD only came out on the PC.) I'll move the thread back where it goes.

Sometimes getting XP games to work on Vista/7/8 can be a hassle, so hopefully somebody can help you out.

Edit: It looks like there are some threads about getting the game to work under Vista/7/8. You might want to check [url='http://www.gamebanshee.com/forums/threads/how-to-solve-graphical-glitches-in-vista-guide.116056/']this thread[/url] out.

SWC
Sir Edmund: "Should you obey the lord who asks you to put a village of innocents to the torch? Is that chivalrous? Is it noble?"
Me: "It's a great way to get promoted, I know that much."