graphics issues

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to Stormfront Studios' Pool of Radiance: Ruins of Myth Drannor.
User avatar
flamewolf393
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:12 pm
Location: raleigh
Contact:
graphics issues

Postby flamewolf393 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:19 pm

All characters/monsters are transparent. Chests, doors, and barriers do not show at all, have to scan for cursor change to find them. I have tried that compatibility program that is all over in here, did not do anything whatsoever.

I have vista, and my graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 3200.

User avatar
Gilliatt
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:30 pm
Location: 45°34'45" N ; 73°44'33" W
Contact:

Postby Gilliatt » Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:18 pm

I have no idea what's causing your problem or how to solve it, but you might find an answer there:

Sorcerer's Place - Pool of Radiance: RoMD Walkthrough & Guide Index

Welcome to GameBanshee by the way! :)
[font="Book Antiqua"][color="DarkOrange"]Dr. Stein grows funny creatures, lets them run into the night.
They become GameBanshee members, and their time is right.
- inspired by an Helloween song[/color][/font]

User avatar
Gokyabgu
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:22 am
Contact:

Postby Gokyabgu » Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:24 pm

flamewolf393 wrote:All characters/monsters are transparent. Chests, doors, and barriers do not show at all, have to scan for cursor change to find them. I have tried that compatibility program that is all over in here, did not do anything whatsoever.

I have vista, and my graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 3200.


Try this solution:



Thanks to leth, a forum member in rpgwatch.com, I can finally solve the graphical glitches in Por2. He said he had applied this solution to Planescape Torment to solve some graphical issues and it perfectly fits this problem also. As you knew in order to solve the graphical glitches in newer systems you must turn off directdraw accelaration from dxdiag menu. You can do that easily on XP, but Vista do not allow that and also new drivers don't want you to mess up with the settings. So here is the solution:

1) Download and install the microsoft application compatiblity toolkit. You can easily find that in Microsoft's site in download section. I think the last version of it is 5,5.
2) Start the 'Compatibility Administrator' with administrator rights. If your UAC is off, no need to adm. rights by the way.
3) Click the 'New' Button
4) Right click the new database. Select 'Create new application fix…'
5) Name your program and vendor however you like. Browse to your por2main.exe file.
6) Select 'None' for operating system modes. Click Next. Tick the 'ForceDirectDrawEmulation' compatibility fix. (No need to select additional compatibility modes)
7) Click next and finish.
8) Save your database.
9) Right click the database and select install. This will install the database.
10) Close the compatibility administrator and start POR2. That's it. Play & Enjoy. No more graphical glitches. Just a bit slow though, but it is more tolerable than weird 3d graphics.

To do that once is enough to solve the issue. No need to do that everytime you want to play POR2.