Page 1 of 1
Intelligence+
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2003 11:58 pm
by Antimatter
First of all, does intelligence have any effect on a mage other then to allow him to cast higher level spells? In other words, is it worth going above 19 int? Second, does a sorcerer's cha work exactly the same as a mage's int? Do you need 19 cha to cast level 9 spells? And if so, is there any benefit in going beyond 19?
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 1:17 am
by lonely wolf
firstly, a mage's intelligence is working like the sorcerer's charisma. secondly, yes, you need to have 19 charisma with a sorcerer in order to cast 9 level spells.
if you go above 19 intelligence or charisma (mage or sorcerer), it just powers the DC of the spells. i think that it's not good to go above 20 in the most needed ability, because then the other abilities are low.
hoping it helped

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 1:18 am
by Xandax
Check out the table on p. 69 of the manual.
It will show what number of bonus spells you get with increased spellcasting ability.
And yes - a sorcerers charisma works like a mages intelligence.
So the benifit for going above 19 is limited, but alone due to the way that 3.ed rules are set up I would personally never end a statistic on an odd number because you gain bonus'
on even numbers. So besides from being able to cast level 9 spells - 19 intelligence is bonus wise just as 18 intelligence.
Hope this helps a little