HUGE BUG IN TOB!

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to BioWare's Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn.
User avatar
the g.a.t. man
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: college
Contact:
HUGE BUG IN TOB!

Postby the g.a.t. man » Wed Jun 20, 2001 4:14 pm

ok i bought ToB from EB today and had no problem installing the game. I finished the final battle with Irenicus and the game then transferred to the ToB cd. Unfortunately, THERE IS NO DIALOGUE!!! When talking to the big head in the beginning, the woman who comes to kill me, Solar, and Sarevok, no text appears at all, just a blank field with their pictures next to it. I can't even see my own responses to choose from. Can somebody please help me??
"You wanna know what i've learned at work today? How to feel rascist, how to feel sexist, how to be unfair toward your fellow man and accept this...." -Slapstick

User avatar
Masteraleph
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2001 10:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Masteraleph » Wed Jun 20, 2001 6:16 pm

K, don't remember which issue this is...but from what I've heard there are 2 big bugs with TOB. One occurs with Win2k- but I don't think that's the one you're having. The other one, from what I've heard, involves having Kevin Dorner's Baldurdash patches installed, even after he politely said you shouldn't. So, get rid of Baldurdash stuff, and it should work, from what I've heard.

User avatar
Drakron Du´Dark
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 11:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Drakron Du´Dark » Wed Jun 20, 2001 6:28 pm

Yes, that is the fix (you dont have to delete the save games from what I have heard).
Happened to a lot of people (Bio forum is full of messages about that) so dont feel bad...
- Waterdeep city constrution.

- Shadowdale low level adventure module.

- Rashmare /Thay high level adventure module.

User avatar
Slayer296
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Passaic, NJ, USA
Contact:

Postby Slayer296 » Wed Jun 20, 2001 6:36 pm

You gotta be kidding. I used a lot of the baldurdash patches just to fix the many minor oops they made. Crap!! Well at least i know not to install ToB until after i defeat it. :mad:

User avatar
Irenin
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat May 05, 2001 10:00 pm
Contact:

Postby Irenin » Wed Jun 20, 2001 7:12 pm

Speaking of bugs....Keldorn has a permanent spell trap surrounding him. what the hell is that?

User avatar
Sabre
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby Sabre » Wed Jun 20, 2001 10:12 pm

Kevin will be modifying his bugfixes so that they will be compatible with ToB, you just have to wait until he get the game and have enough time to work out what need to be done.
From other thread, it appear the the Cloak of Mirroring have been changed to absorbing spells rather than reflecting them, and the animation have also changed to look like a spell trap.

User avatar
Dennism
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: Deventer, Netherlands
Contact:

Postby Dennism » Thu Jun 21, 2001 2:15 am

Originally posted by Irenin:
<STRONG>Speaking of bugs....Keldorn has a permanent spell trap surrounding him. what the hell is that?</STRONG>



Does keldorn use the cloak of reflection? it's animation is changed from that little circle to a spelltrap anim

User avatar
Laurelei
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Florida
Contact:

Postby Laurelei » Thu Jun 21, 2001 5:21 pm

Yikes, I have the Baldurdash fixes installed, and although I haven't got ToB yet, I would like to....Is the only way of getting rid of the Baldurdash fixes to reinstall the game and official patch?

User avatar
Mr. Sprinkles
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed May 09, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Heaven
Contact:

Postby Mr. Sprinkles » Thu Jun 21, 2001 5:26 pm

I used a Baldurdash patch to fix a problem I had with blackrazor. So, my question: if I get rid of my thingy from baldurdash, will the problem I had come back or does TOB just fix everything? :o :confused:
I saved Suldanesellar from destruction, and all I got was this stupid amulet.

User avatar
the g.a.t. man
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: college
Contact:

Postby the g.a.t. man » Thu Jun 21, 2001 7:25 pm

here's an update....i managed to fix the problem after re-installing both ToB and SOA...this time i also did a full install of ToB just to make sure...i wasn't sure or not if i had downloaded the 3rd party patches...oh well...plus i had moved my save games to another directory so they wouldn't be lost. Another problem now is i have one of the amulets gained by killing mordenkainen's sword and i cannot unequip it from my character....weird
"You wanna know what i've learned at work today? How to feel rascist, how to feel sexist, how to be unfair toward your fellow man and accept this...." -Slapstick

User avatar
Hazim ibn Gorion
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: New Rochelle, NY USA
Contact:

Postby Hazim ibn Gorion » Thu Jun 21, 2001 9:39 pm

will shadowkeeper work to unequip the amulet...and for that matter will it work in general with ToB (understanding that the item list will still need to be updated.)?

User avatar
Sabre
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby Sabre » Thu Jun 21, 2001 9:43 pm

Shadow Keeper has been updated and according to the creator, it is compatible with ToB. Go back to the site and download the new version, here's the site for those who doesn't know: [url="http://www.mud-master.com/shadowkeeper/"]http://www.mud-master.com/shadowkeeper/[/url]

You can use Shadow Keeper to remove the amulet, simply delete it from your character's inventory list.

User avatar
velvetfreak
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon May 07, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby velvetfreak » Thu Jun 21, 2001 9:47 pm

Download the latest version of ShadowKeeper (2.0.4) - it's been updated twice to deal with ToB.

The blank dialog bug is a result of your dialog.tlk file being modified, usually by custom items. The ToB install patches the dialog.tlk (unlike TotSC), and it gets screwed up if the index count is different to what it expects. I didn't think Baldurdash modified the dialog.tlk except to correct typos, which makes me suspect you had custom items. Can you confirm?

There is an item flag for Unequippable (I don't think it's usually called that but can't remember at the moment) eg. Imoen's Belt. It sounds like your amulet is bugged. With any luck you may be able to remove and re-add the item and even match the charges up (for consistency of course :) ).
Check my profile for the Glaicas patch

User avatar
the g.a.t. man
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: college
Contact:

Postby the g.a.t. man » Fri Jun 22, 2001 12:55 am

yeah i definitely will get the new shadowkeeper version now....and i had tried fooling around with making a new weapon( unsuccessfully i might add heh heh)...thanx everyone for the help!
"You wanna know what i've learned at work today? How to feel rascist, how to feel sexist, how to be unfair toward your fellow man and accept this...." -Slapstick

User avatar
Paladin
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2000 10:00 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Postby Paladin » Fri Jun 22, 2001 9:47 am

Thanks for that Shadowkeeper link. I had the old version. FYI, the amulet that is stuck on my PC is the Greenstone Amultet. I hope the change the animation of the cloak of mirroring back to the way it was, spell trap anim. gets in the way.

User avatar
gecko
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2001 10:00 pm
Contact:

Postby gecko » Fri Jun 22, 2001 9:54 am

Originally posted by Paladin:
<STRONG>I hope the change the animation of the cloak of mirroring back to the way it was, spell trap anim. gets in the way.</STRONG>


I know what you mean. It blocks the entire battle scene, and all you see is this damn white glowy ball and then the update that your target is gone.
Dragons, demons, fair maidens in distress... A daily life of a cavalier - Gecko

User avatar
Sabre
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby Sabre » Fri Jun 22, 2001 9:57 am

Paladin: If you want to change the animation, use Infinity Engine Editor Pro, can be download [url="http://www.teambg.net/teambg_com/cgi-bin/YaBB.cgi?board=developers&action=display&num=992217049"]here[/url], to edit the item file of the Cloak. I believe the file for it is CLCK26.ITM.