XP for Fallen Cleric?

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to BioWare's Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn.
User avatar
chanukya
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 1:20 am
Contact:
XP for Fallen Cleric?

Postby chanukya » Wed Jul 22, 2009 1:32 am

Hello everyone, I've played BGI-BGII-TOB multiple times, with mage dual-and-multi classes. (F/M, F->M, F/M/T). For my latest run through, I'd like to play as a Dual or Multi-Classed Cleric.

However, I'd like to RP my Cleric falling in the course of the game as he gains in power (maybe his god forsakes him, seeing him as a threat...), and was wondering what the AD&D rules were for a fallen Fighter/Cleric or Mage/Cleric. If it's a Dual Class, does the F/C get his cleric levels converted to Fighter levels? If it's a multi-class, would XP still be shared across both classes? (And if not, what happens to existing cleric levels?)

If anyone has experience playing this scenario in their P&P sessions, would appreciate the advice.

User avatar
galraen
Posts: 3727
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:03 am
Location: Kernow (Cornwall), UK
Contact:

Postby galraen » Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:59 am

As far as I'm aware there are no penalties for clerics who change alignment in this game, there are for Paladins and Rangers, but no one else IIRC.

In PnP (proper) AD&D there are severe penalties, but I'm sure they haven't been implemented in BG2.
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.

And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]

User avatar
chanukya
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 1:20 am
Contact:

Postby chanukya » Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:56 am

Actually, I was wondering about the AD&D penalties - I'd like to RP my char falling and giving up his clerical powers as he enters TOB, without reinstatement. He'll be a multi-class, so will use the abilities of the second class going forward. I can make any appropriate changes in SK.

However, I don't know how the existing clerical levels would be accounted for in AD&D - would they be converted to levels in another class? (Fighter, maybe). Would the XP continue to be split across Fighter & Cleric levels going forward (for a F/C multi-class) even though he is no longer a cleric?. Thanks....

User avatar
CFM
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 10:03 am
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Contact:

Postby CFM » Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:41 am

Methinks the only way you'll be able to play/roleplay a fallen cleric is by self-imposed rules and penalties.

First, based on your roleplaying style, decide what initiates becoming a "fallen" cleric. Maybe your cleric becomes fallen when your party's rep score falls below a certain point?

Then, decide what constitutes playing a "fallen" character. Maybe you lose your divine spellcasting ability? Or dual to a fighter and never cast cleric spells again, even though you'd technically gain them back after your PC's fighter level overtakes your PC's cleric level.

And if you ever "redeem" you cleric status (in whichever way you decide), then you may resume memorizing and casting your cleric spells. But, you never gain any additional spells, as an almighty penance, and constant reminder of the path that you should never stray from again (not to mention the fact that you're a dual class now too).

The beauty here is that there is no wrong answer here, because God(s) work in mysterious ways...
Why is it that whenever I finally get around to playing a new game for the first time,
I feel like playing Baldur's Gate for the second time...

User avatar
appo13
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:16 pm
Contact:

Postby appo13 » Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:22 am

BTW: Didnt clerics get this symbol of their good (meaning this ring with additional level 6 and 7th spells) after they reach an amount of XP? What level do they get it and will the fallen clerics get it either?

User avatar
Lopov
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:24 am
Location: MB, Slovenia
Contact:

Postby Lopov » Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:57 pm

You can't become a fallen cleric no matter what you do.You can be cast out of your temple, but you're still not a fallen cleric.

But yes, when specific experience level is reached, you gain some holy symbol.

User avatar
Thrifalas
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 5:59 am
Contact:

Postby Thrifalas » Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:10 am

appo13 wrote:BTW: Didnt clerics get this symbol of their good (meaning this ring with additional level 6 and 7th spells) after they reach an amount of XP? What level do they get it and will the fallen clerics get it either?


It's supposed to be level 25. I think it was above 4m exp at first and then it was changed in the patch to just below 4m, so that multi-classed could achieve it.