erasing the drive??

If you have technical questions regarding computers, consoles, or the games we play on them, post them in here.
User avatar
k1k355
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:18 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:
erasing the drive??

Postby k1k355 » Tue May 31, 2005 3:36 am

well yesterday i tried to install BG1 TOTSC but some files couldnt just copy(i went to full installation) so i've chosen to load this files from CD.actually whole installation was going pretty slow...

but the next day(today :) ) my hard drive(WD 80GB eide uata 100 8mb) just CANT load.like its have never been there!!!now,i know there is 'Data Lifeguard' program for setuping HDs but before he does that, he asks that drive must be ERASED!
i have some importanat files there so is there any way to enable this drive without erasing?plz help its very urgent!

thanks ahead!
'Ako nisi za radit,onda si Dalmatinac-ako jesi,onda si zakurac!'

User avatar
Rookierookie
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Contact:

Postby Rookierookie » Tue May 31, 2005 5:53 am

Try connecting it onto another PC.

User avatar
stramoski
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Postby stramoski » Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:47 am

More Info Req

Can you describe the "will not load" problem in more detail? Can you not boot up, or is it a secondary or slave? Does your bios detect it?

The Delete, or one of the "F" keys usually enters the bios (only at the initial boot-up screen, though). There'll be a section on ide devices.

I'm not sure how technically savy you are, so I'm unsure what detail to go into.

You might try connecting to another ide port... Pri/Slave, 2nd/Master.

User avatar
Denethorn
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2001 10:00 pm
Location: The Space Between
Contact:

Postby Denethorn » Thu Jun 02, 2005 11:43 am

How old is the hard drive? Sounds like it might have packed up and died altogether if you were having file transfer errors prior to the problem.
"I fart in your general direction! Your mother was a hamster, and your father smelt of elderberries!"

User avatar
k1k355
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:18 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Postby k1k355 » Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:07 pm

no,listen(read):

its my secondary and ,yes, everything with slave/master is ok couse its been working that way since i bought him.i KNOW that i JUST need some kind of program which will recognize the drive(d :) .
i just got GetDataBack but it needs key-well thats another story. :)

win98se dint recognize larger drives so i need these programs.(or drivers)

understand?

i tried many program and every goddamn dont have what i want.
im getting little frustrated.
'Ako nisi za radit,onda si Dalmatinac-ako jesi,onda si zakurac!'

User avatar
Torvald
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Postby Torvald » Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:56 pm

If you are running Windows 98SE, you might want to try starting your computer in "safe" mode. That will start your computer with the bare minimum number of programs loaded (you won't be able to access your CD drive, though).

If you are able to see your slave harddrive in safe mode, that means one of the programs that gets loaded in the normal startup is causing your problem. You would then need to use the system configuration utility tool to do a trial and error deactivation of each startup program to find the guilty one. (select Programs - Accessories - System Tools - System Information - Tools - System Configuration Utility). Possible some spyware or adware sneaked onto your computer and is messing up your startup process.

If you are not able to see your slave harddrive in safe mode, here's another thing to try. After your computer starts, go into MSDOS mode and change to the drive number of your slave harddrive. Then type in the following: fdisk/mbr This is an old DOS command that tells your computer to re-write the main boot record on your harddrive to the standard default setting.

Sometimes a virus, or spyware, or a temporary power outage, or even just old age/high use of a harddrive will cause the electronic signals on the boot sector to fade or be scrambled. Even if the rest of your harddrive is good, having a bad boot sector means it's pretty much useless. That's why the old DOS command of fdisk/mbr is so nice - it really does a great job of fixing main boot records that are fading out or are scrambled.

- Torvald -

User avatar
k1k355
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:18 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Postby k1k355 » Sun Jun 05, 2005 11:57 am

thanks. i've fixed it by formating the drive and then recovering lost data with PC inspector.

now im having another problem-> see other topic :)
'Ako nisi za radit,onda si Dalmatinac-ako jesi,onda si zakurac!'