Graphics Cards

If you have technical questions regarding computers, consoles, or the games we play on them, post them in here.
User avatar
giles337
Posts: 2141
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:53 pm
Location: Cell Block E
Contact:
Graphics Cards

Postby giles337 » Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:01 pm

Ok.... I have promised hel from Brynn('s Boyfriend :D ) on this one, but at the moment what is a good graphics card for aroun £150??? I am open to all suggestions :)
Mag: Don't remember much at all of last night do you?
Me: put simply.... No :D
Mag: From what I put together of your late night drunken ramblings? Vodka, 3 girls, and then we played tic-tac-toe and slapped each other around.

User avatar
k1k355
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:18 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Postby k1k355 » Thu Nov 25, 2004 5:11 pm

Gf 4 Mx rocks!!! :p

maybe gexcube 9800pro?saphire atlantis9800se?gainnward ultra?ofcourse there always geforzzzz FX5600 :) etc etc....
sorry but i cant actually give u prices but i can tell u that they are round 200euro in my country....
'Ako nisi za radit,onda si Dalmatinac-ako jesi,onda si zakurac!'

User avatar
Gromph
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby Gromph » Thu Nov 25, 2004 7:46 pm

You could try an Ati radeon, they are very nice cards, i dont know what the pricing is on one of them in your Euros or whatever currency you use there, also a GEforce 4 FX is a fairly good card, runs fairly decent pricewise also
[SIZE="1"]Finally running a decent computer!
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ / ATI Radeon X1900 / 2Gb RAM
[/size]

User avatar
Xandax
Posts: 14151
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 12:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Xandax » Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:12 am

You should be able to pick up a ATI 9600 XT for rather cheap money somewhere, which is quite a decent card still.

I'd think there is a GeForce equivivalent for the same amount of money as well, but cant' remember any "number" :)
Insert signature here.

User avatar
Rookierookie
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Contact:

Postby Rookierookie » Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:52 am

None of you are giving him a very good choice for his money.

I would advise the 6600GT, but make sure it is the AGP version. You should be able to tell by another heat sink right next to the main fan. Unless prices in UK are much higher than US/HK prices, it should be just under 150 pounds.

If you find you cannot afford it, the 9600XT is a good choice.

User avatar
giles337
Posts: 2141
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:53 pm
Location: Cell Block E
Contact:

Postby giles337 » Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:17 pm

:D thanks for all your help guys. I will check p on all of these.
Mag: Don't remember much at all of last night do you?
Me: put simply.... No :D
Mag: From what I put together of your late night drunken ramblings? Vodka, 3 girls, and then we played tic-tac-toe and slapped each other around.

User avatar
Destroyed Eden
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:56 am
Location: Quebec, CANADA
Contact:

Postby Destroyed Eden » Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:22 am

By my experience...ATi cards are very powerful and.....UNSTABLE. The problem with ATI is the drivers. When they try to fix out a bug, instability in any game...they make a patch and usually add new problems. ATI drivers are trully a vicious circle. I got a Radeon 9700 Pro 128mb...and trust me...sometimes i have to use older drivers cause the last ones make my game crash or wathever. I'd say buy a Nvidia card...their drivers really rocks. Since Nvidia dont make any video cards (only the teachnology), go for ASUS ( little bit more expensive but better quality) a FX 6600 is really good, 256mb edition...go on http://www.asus.com for more info...Trust me, you wont regret it. If you buy a Radeon at the beginning you'll be: WOW THAT CARD IS FRICKIN FAST... and after a couple of months you'll be yelling at it because it makes your games crash.

User avatar
Rookierookie
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Contact:

Postby Rookierookie » Fri Dec 03, 2004 3:31 am

1. Older Nvidia cards almost always have problems with Nvidia's latest drivers
2. There isn't such a thing as a "FX" 6600
3. The 6600 standard isn't available for AGP

User avatar
Rob-hin
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 11:00 am
Location: In the Batcave with catwoman. *prrrr*
Contact:

Postby Rob-hin » Sun Dec 05, 2004 5:15 am

The 6600 AGP is in the makeing and should be in shops in a while.
Guinness is good for you.
Gives you strength.

User avatar
stramoski
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Postby stramoski » Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:53 pm

Related Question

I feel stupid asking this, but I've not been in Tech Support for a few years and the standards have changed somewhat...

I'm looking at a low-end nvidia ge-force for a friend of mine, but I'm noticing as a feature, the memory is 64/128MB DDR SDRAM...

Huh?

64 or 128? Am I missing something? Does this just mean that it can be upgraded? I've actually never upgraded a Video card, is it even something I should consider???

User avatar
Xandax
Posts: 14151
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 12:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Xandax » Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:08 am

[QUOTE=stramoski]I feel stupid asking this, but I've not been in Tech Support for a few years and the standards have changed somewhat...

I'm looking at a low-end nvidia ge-force for a friend of mine, but I'm noticing as a feature, the memory is 64/128MB DDR SDRAM...

Huh?

64 or 128? Am I missing something? Does this just mean that it can be upgraded? I've actually never upgraded a Video card, is it even something I should consider???[/QUOTE]

Are you sure it isn't just 2 versions avaible - one with 64 and another with 128?
Insert signature here.

User avatar
stramoski
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Postby stramoski » Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:45 am

Nope

Actually, is says 64/128mb in the memory section of the features, as well as 32/64-bit advanced memory interface in the chipset features...

Package Contains: CHAINTECH GeForce MX4000 series graphics card with 64/128MB DDR

Can someone make sense of this?

User avatar
Xandax
Posts: 14151
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 12:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Xandax » Wed Dec 08, 2004 1:02 am

I am 99% sure that it is simply because that card comes in a 64 and 128 MB ram version.
Insert signature here.

User avatar
stramoski
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Postby stramoski » Wed Dec 08, 2004 1:12 am

Hmmm

Maybe they just use the same box for both? I suppose it's possible... I don't know why I didn't think of it...

I'll cross my fingers and hope he bought the 128 :)

Thanks, guys!

User avatar
Rob-hin
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2001 11:00 am
Location: In the Batcave with catwoman. *prrrr*
Contact:

Postby Rob-hin » Wed Dec 08, 2004 2:33 am

I think it's the amout of ram and it's core speed.
So128mb ram at a speed of 64mb.
Guinness is good for you.
Gives you strength.

User avatar
Xandax
Posts: 14151
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2000 12:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Postby Xandax » Wed Dec 08, 2004 2:56 am

[QUOTE=stramoski]Maybe they just use the same box for both? I suppose it's possible... I don't know why I didn't think of it...

I'll cross my fingers and hope he bought the 128 :)

Thanks, guys![/QUOTE]


Well - I've looked around the web and seen many references to the 64/128 but each time I've seen specific products, it has been listed as either with 64 or 128 MB ram.
I am still pretty confident it is simply because the model has both versions.
Insert signature here.

User avatar
Rookierookie
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Contact:

Postby Rookierookie » Wed Dec 08, 2004 4:11 am

I hope you bought the 64MB, since you'd be wasting your money on a 128MB version.

User avatar
stramoski
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Postby stramoski » Wed Dec 08, 2004 4:54 am

Huh?

He said he paid about fifty bucks for it... So I think he did o.k., either way... Why would 128 be a waste? Does the MX4000 not take advantage of the extra 64?

User avatar
Rookierookie
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Contact:

Postby Rookierookie » Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:30 am

An FX 5500 is barely taking advantage as it is.

User avatar
stramoski
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:04 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Postby stramoski » Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:57 am

Ok

Well, that's good to know... I think I'll have a long talk with David (my friend) about buying from e-bay before researching... I'm of the school of thought that one sould do this kind of research BEFORE buying, not afterwards... Thanks for your help, Xandax, Rookierookie, and Rob-hin...