problem with speed utility

This forum is to be used for all discussions pertaining to Stormfront Studios' Pool of Radiance: Ruins of Myth Drannor.
User avatar
uglijimus
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:
problem with speed utility

Postby uglijimus » Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:11 pm

I downloaded the speed control utility for 1.4. I installed it as instructed into the POR folder, then ran the bat file, and then clicked on the exe inside of that folder. It launches into the game, but the 7 or 8 has no effect. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

User avatar
Tricky
Posts: 3562
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Postby Tricky » Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:45 am

I haven't played this game -frankly don't know a thing about it-, but since it is a golden oldie I would at least suggest running the speed utility through the windows 95/98/xp compatibility mode.
[INDENT][SIZE="1"][font="Courier New"]'..[color="White"]t[/color]olerance w[color="White"]h[/color]en fog rolls in clouds unfold your selfless wings fe[color="White"]a[/color]thers [color="White"]t[/color]hat float from arabesque pillows I sold to be consumed by the [color="White"]s[/color]now white cold if only the plaster could hold withstand the flam[url="http://bit.ly/foT0XQ"]e[/url] then this fountain torch [color="White"]w[/color]ould know no shame and be outstripped only by the sun that burns with the glory and [color="White"]h[/color]onor of [color="White"]y[/color]our..'[/font][/size][/INDENT]

User avatar
uglijimus
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:

Postby uglijimus » Wed Jul 21, 2010 7:12 am

that makes sense considering I'm using windows 7. I'll give a shot. thanks.

User avatar
uglijimus
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:

Postby uglijimus » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:21 pm

tried it out unfortunately it doesn't work. I guess it isn't so bad. I mean, it is slow, but I enjoy the graphics so it shouldn't be so bad. :) Just it takes SOOO long to get a level!

User avatar
Tricky
Posts: 3562
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Postby Tricky » Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:45 pm

What kind of emulator are you using, exactly? You might not even need the speed utility as long as you use Dosbox to run the game. The Dosbox shell should be able to slow things down for you.
[INDENT][SIZE="1"][font="Courier New"]'..[color="White"]t[/color]olerance w[color="White"]h[/color]en fog rolls in clouds unfold your selfless wings fe[color="White"]a[/color]thers [color="White"]t[/color]hat float from arabesque pillows I sold to be consumed by the [color="White"]s[/color]now white cold if only the plaster could hold withstand the flam[url="http://bit.ly/foT0XQ"]e[/url] then this fountain torch [color="White"]w[/color]ould know no shame and be outstripped only by the sun that burns with the glory and [color="White"]h[/color]onor of [color="White"]y[/color]our..'[/font][/size][/INDENT]

User avatar
uglijimus
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:

Postby uglijimus » Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:21 pm

I'm not using an emulator, I just tried to run compatibility mode using windows 2000. Now that I think about it though, when I tried to run the exe from the speed utility folder, it "the program can't start because RT serverdll.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

You think I speed things up if I use dsbox?

User avatar
Tricky
Posts: 3562
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Postby Tricky » Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:53 am

Dosbox simulates oldschool DOS environments on a little virtual hard disc. Hence you won't need to tweak your own computer to 'look' old computer by incorporating ancient system files. I highly doubt that it would work anyhow, it goes a little beyond just selecting a compatibility mode in windows.

I'm not in the know-how of Dosbox anymore, it's been some years. I think it is your best shot though. If it runs too fast even on Dosbox, I'd look for settings that (somewhat) simulate a 486 or early Pentium type of computer.
[INDENT][SIZE="1"][font="Courier New"]'..[color="White"]t[/color]olerance w[color="White"]h[/color]en fog rolls in clouds unfold your selfless wings fe[color="White"]a[/color]thers [color="White"]t[/color]hat float from arabesque pillows I sold to be consumed by the [color="White"]s[/color]now white cold if only the plaster could hold withstand the flam[url="http://bit.ly/foT0XQ"]e[/url] then this fountain torch [color="White"]w[/color]ould know no shame and be outstripped only by the sun that burns with the glory and [color="White"]h[/color]onor of [color="White"]y[/color]our..'[/font][/size][/INDENT]

User avatar
rmemmett84
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:19 pm
Location: New Castle, PA
Contact:

Postby rmemmett84 » Fri Jul 23, 2010 7:10 pm

Tricky wrote:If it runs too fast even on Dosbox, I'd look for settings that (somewhat) simulate a 486 or early Pentium type of computer.


Unfortunately I can offer no help but I think u may be misunderstanding his problem. Sounds like the game is too slow and he wants to speed it up not slow it down.
Success takes commitment. In a bacon and eggs breakfast the chicken is involved but the pig is committed...be the pig!!!

User avatar
Tricky
Posts: 3562
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Postby Tricky » Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:15 am

Aha, thanks for clarifying. Still, Dosbox should be the best shot at properly emulating the right kind of OS for this game. There's a good chance that will fix all issues.
[INDENT][SIZE="1"][font="Courier New"]'..[color="White"]t[/color]olerance w[color="White"]h[/color]en fog rolls in clouds unfold your selfless wings fe[color="White"]a[/color]thers [color="White"]t[/color]hat float from arabesque pillows I sold to be consumed by the [color="White"]s[/color]now white cold if only the plaster could hold withstand the flam[url="http://bit.ly/foT0XQ"]e[/url] then this fountain torch [color="White"]w[/color]ould know no shame and be outstripped only by the sun that burns with the glory and [color="White"]h[/color]onor of [color="White"]y[/color]our..'[/font][/size][/INDENT]

User avatar
Gilliatt
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:30 pm
Location: 45°34'45" N ; 73°44'33" W
Contact:

Postby Gilliatt » Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:10 pm

@ Tricky, uglijimus is actually talking about Pool of Radiance: Ruins of Myth Drannor, made in 2001, not the original Pool of Radiance, so DOSBox won't help at all. ;)

@ uglijimus, is everything slow or is it only the zombies? If it's the zombies, you will have to live with it, they were always slow, that's what killed the game for many people.
[font="Book Antiqua"][color="DarkOrange"]Dr. Stein grows funny creatures, lets them run into the night.
They become GameBanshee members, and their time is right.
- inspired by an Helloween song[/color][/font]

User avatar
uglijimus
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:

Postby uglijimus » Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:14 am

@gilliat,

actually it's not something you have to live with! I had some trouble loading this for windows 7 and talked with arkangyl through email who was extremely helpful and patient with me. Here's how to do it:


1. extract speed utility folder into SSI/Pools of Radiance.
2. removed the original por2main.exe application (I put it somewhere else just in case something goes wrong)
3. Took the speedmod.exe and _inmm.dll files from the speed utility folder and moved them into Pools of Radiance folder
4. Renamed the "speedmod.exe" into por2main.exe
5. Click on por2main.exe and play!

User avatar
Gilliatt
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:30 pm
Location: 45°34'45" N ; 73°44'33" W
Contact:

Postby Gilliatt » Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:25 pm

Thanks for the info uglijimus. :)

I won't use it since I have completed the game a few years ago and I don't plan to play it again, but it might be useful to someone else.
[font="Book Antiqua"][color="DarkOrange"]Dr. Stein grows funny creatures, lets them run into the night.
They become GameBanshee members, and their time is right.
- inspired by an Helloween song[/color][/font]

User avatar
uglijimus
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:

Postby uglijimus » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:09 am

not a problem! but i think I'm the only one playing this game right now!

User avatar
robinadams111
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:34 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby robinadams111 » Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:07 pm

Speed control utility versions are showing problem on my side as well. I think more discussions should be opened over here to help all those who are actually facing this kind of certain problems
[url="http://www.marialist.com/for-sale/animals/adopt-sushi-via-oriental-cats-for-sale-service_559"]Oriental Cats for sale[/url] in USA